Is the beverage industry too thirsty for energy?!

Energy prices will climb to record highs in 2022. Companies are also concerned about the security of their energy supply. This brings new impetus to topics that are already long-running issues on the strategic corporate agenda. It's about more sustainability through higher energy efficiency and lower CO₂ emissions. To achieve that, you need creative ideas. Above all, one question arises: What is the most efficient way to quench the beverage industry's thirst for energy? Modern drive technology from Danfoss Drives can do a lot for you. Take the example of the new teaching and experimental brewery at the Doemens Academy to see what is possible.

Ways to more sustainability in the beverage industry

Companies in the beverage industry face numerous challenges. Rising energy prices are putting pressure on margins. Politicians are setting guidelines in the area of ​​sustainability and more and more consumers are demanding products that are verifiably fair or organically produced. Not everything revolves around the end product itself. On the way to becoming a sustainable company, it is also important to make your own production processes energy-efficient. However, more sustainability starts at the gates of your own company. Because it is also important to optimize the supply chain in the direction of the lowest possible CO₂ emissions. 

In the video, Dr. Gerrit Blümelhuber from the Doemens Academy, an internationally renowned training center for experts in the beverage industry, and Agata Fornasari from Danfoss Drives on ways to increase energy efficiency in beverage industry plants. The focus is on modern drive technology. With it, users can make all production steps more energy-efficient. Next you will learn how Danfoss itself high energy efficiency and low CO₂ emissions realized in our own production. The goal is CO₂ neutrality. benefit from it Not only within scope 1 and 2 of efficient and flexible drive technology, but also within scope 3 of one sustainably committed partners count.

Save energy: The glass is only half full

The production of beverages is energy-intensive. Using beer production as an example, the infographics show that although only a quarter of the energy consumed is electric, two-thirds of the energy costs are attributable to electricity. The electrical energy is used in all stations of the brewing process - from the malting to the bottling hall. Almost a fifth of the electricity consumption is incurred during filling. Of course, this can vary depending on the size of the company.

Nevertheless, the example makes it clear that it is worthwhile in the long term as well as economically if modern drive technology is used for bottling beverages. In the new technical center of the Doemens Academy, a combination of highly efficient central and decentralized frequency frequency converters and PM motors with IE5 classification drives the conveyor belts efficiently and flexibly. In this way, the inventory for spare parts can also be significantly reduced.

Read about the savings potential of the internationally renowned Doemen's Academy in their new teaching and experimental brewery with efficient and flexible drive technology from Danfoss. You can find more tips and in-depth knowledge about the smooth and energy-efficient use of separators in beverage production in the Tech Insight.

More sustainability in beverage production
play video

Ways to more energy efficiency in the beverage industry

Would you like to make your beverage production more energy-efficient, but the way to get there is still a bit confusing?! An energy efficiency business plan can help here, with which you can cover the following areas and plan effectively:

  • Ways and means to reduce and optimize power consumption; this also includes the control of electricity demand
  • Efficient ways to avoid energy and product waste and product waste. This not only harms the environment, but also leads to unnecessary costs.
  • Strategies with which you can optimize the life cycle of devices and make maintenance and downtime plannable. This includes, for example, preventive and predictive maintenance.
  • The use of smart technologies such as smart manufacturing or digital remote monitoring systems that allow you to keep an eye on your production at all times and from anywhere in the world.

Energy efficiency: Speed ​​control is the be-all and end-all

Modern drive technology can make an important contribution to all of these points, so that you can increase the energy and cost efficiency potential in your beverage production. For example, the laws of affinity for centrifugal pumps and fans state that reducing motor speed by 25% reduces energy consumption by almost 60%. If the engine speed is reduced by 50%, the energy consumption is reduced by almost 90%. The speed control itself therefore offers a very good starting point for raising energy efficiency potential. Users of Danfoss drive technology even benefit twice: in addition to lower costs for more efficient energy consumption and less environmental pollution, the high return on investment just a few months after commissioning is a plus.
 

Also measures to smart maintenance Incidentally, they reduce energy consumption and costs in the beverage industry. With predictive maintenance with condition-based monitoring or the DrivePro Services – such as that digital remote monitoring – users ensure the availability of their production lines. You can find out everything that is possible when it comes to smart maintenance strategies for the beverage industry right here

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

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

Why "air" also plays a major role

In production plants and especially in the beverage industry, air conditioning and building technology solutions are an essential factor for an efficient, energy-saving overall system. Together with our partner Novenco, a large manufacturer of fans, Danfoss has that 'EC+' concept developed. EC+ is a combination of an efficient fan with an efficiency of around 92%, a high-efficiency PM motor with an efficiency of around 95% and a frequency converter from Danfoss with an efficiency of 97%. This achieves an overall efficiency of around 85%. In the video, René Grywnow from Danfoss Drives explains exactly what role the speed control of fans and air conditioning technology plays in the beverage industry.

Example from the beverage industry:
How does a brewery quench its thirst for energy?

Brewers under pressure: Dr. Gerrit Blümelhuber from Doemens Academy and René Grywnow from Danfoss Drives. Did brewers miss out on new technologies? In this episode of Torque - the podcast driving you, the two industry experts discuss new markets, new requirements, new technology and more energy efficiency in breweries. The podcast is only available in German.

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

PGlmcmFtZSB0aXRsZT0iSG93IGNhbiBDT+KCgiBuZXV0cmFsaXR5IGJlIGFjaGlldmVkPyIgd2lkdGg9IjgwMCIgaGVpZ2h0PSI0NTAiIHNyYz0iaHR0cHM6Ly93d3cueW91dHViZS5jb20vZW1iZWQvLU5pQWhxemcyUFk/ZmVhdHVyZT1vZW1iZWQmcmVsPTAmZW5hYmxlanNhcGk9MSZvcmlnaW49aHR0cHMlMjUzQSUyNTJGJTI1MkZkaXNjb3Zlci1kcml2ZXMuZGFuZm9zcy5jb20mY29udHJvbHM9MSIgZnJhbWVib3JkZXI9IjAiIGFsbG93PSJhY2NlbGVyb21ldGVyOyBhdXRvcGxheTsgY2xpcGJvYXJkLXdyaXRlOyBlbmNyeXB0ZWQtbWVkaWE7IGd5cm9zY29wZTsgcGljdHVyZS1pbi1waWN0dXJlIiBhbGxvd2Z1bGxzY3JlZW4+PC9pZnJhbWU+

Reduce energy consumption = reduce CO₂ emissions

Energy efficiency plays the most important role in reducing CO₂ emissions. Because the less electricity is consumed, the less CO₂ is emitted. However, even the most modern methods of generating electricity still result in CO₂ emissions, albeit at a much lower level. Rule number 1 is therefore: The greenest and at the same time cheapest energy is the one that is not used in the first place. Of course, this also applies to the beverage industry.

Agata Fornasari from Danfoss Drives explains these connections in the video and shows how drive technology from Danfoss Drives plays a key role in optimizing energy consumption and reducing CO₂ emissions in users' bottling plants. An amazing reduction of about 35% - depending of course on the respective application - is possible.

Discover Danfoss Drives

Ist die Getränkeindustrie zu durstig nach Energie?!

Die Energiepreise klettern im Jahr 2022 auf Rekordhoch. Unternehmen sorgen sich darüber hinaus um ihre energetische Versorgungssicherheit. Das bringt Themen, die sowieso Dauerbrenner auf der strategischen Unternehmensagenda sind, nochmal neuen Schwung. Es geht um mehr Nachhaltigkeit durch höhere Energieeffizienz und einen geringeren CO₂-Ausstoß. Um das zu erzielen, braucht man kreative Ideen. Es stellt sich vor allem eine Frage: Wie lässt sich der Durst der Getränkeindustrie nach Energie am effizientesten stillen? Moderne Antriebstechnik von Danfoss Drives kann dabei viel für Sie bewegen. Sehen Sie unter anderem am Beispiel der neuen Lehr- und Versuchsbrauerei der Doemens Akademie, was alles möglich ist.

Wege zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit in der Getränkeindustrie

Unternehmen der Getränkeindustrie stehen vor zahlreichen Herausforderungen. So drücken steigende Energiepreise auf die Margen. Die Politik setzt Leitplanken im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit und immer mehr Verbraucher fordern nachweislich fair oder organisch produzierte Waren. Dabei dreht sich nicht alles um das Endprodukt selbst. Auf dem Weg hin zu einem nachhaltigen Unternehmen ist es auch wichtig, die eigenen Produktionsprozesse energieeffizient zu gestalten. Mehr Nachhaltigkeit beginnt allerdings bereits vor den Toren des eigenen Unternehmens. Denn es gilt, auch die Lieferkette in Richtung möglichst geringer CO₂-Emissionen zu optimieren. 

Im Video sprechen Dr. Gerrit Blümelhuber von der Doemens Akademie, einer international renommierten Ausbildungsstätte für Experten der Getränkeindustrie, und Agata Fornasari von Danfoss Drives über Wege zu mehr Energieeffizienz in den Anlagen der Getränkeindustrie. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf moderner Antriebstechnik. Mit ihr können Anwender alle Produktionsschritte energieeffizienter gestalten. Weiter erfahren Sie, wie Danfoss selbst hohe Energieeffizienz und geringe CO₂-Emissionen in der eigenen Fertigung realisiert. Ziel ist die CO₂-Neutralität. Damit profitieren Anwender nicht nur im Rahmen von Scope 1 und 2 von effizienter und flexibler Antriebstechnik, sondern können auch im Rahmen von Scope 3 auf einen nachhaltig engagierten Partner zählen.

Energie sparen: Das Glas ist erst halb voll

Die Herstellung von Getränken ist energieintensiv. Anhand der Bierproduktion zeigt sich hier beispielhaft in den Infografiken, dass zwar nur ein Viertel der verbrauchten Energie elektrisch ist, aber dennoch Zweidrittel der Energiekosten auf Strom entfallen. Eingesetzt wird die elektrische Energie in allen Stationen des Brauprozesses – von der Mälzerei bis hin zum Flaschenkeller. Knapp ein Fünftel des Stromverbrauchs fällt dabei bei der Abfüllung an. Je nach Betriebsgröße kann das natürlich variieren.

Dennoch macht das Beispiel deutlich: Es lohnt sich nachhaltig wie auch ökonomisch, wenn moderne Antriebstechnik bei der Getränkeabfüllung zum Einsatz kommt. Im neuen Technikum der Doemens Akademie treibt eine Kombination aus hocheffizienten zentralen sowie dezentralen Frequenzumrichtern und PM-Motoren mit IE5-Klassifizierung die Förderbänder effizient und flexibel an. Auf diese Weise lässt sich auch der Lagerbestand für Ersatzteile deutlich zu reduzieren.

Lesen Sie, welche Einsparpotenziale die international renommierte Doemens Akademie in ihrer neuen Lehr- und Versuchsbrauerei mit effizienter und flexibler Antriebstechnik von Danfoss realisieren möchte. Weitere Tipps und vertiefendes Wissen rund um den reibungslosen und energieeffizienten Einsatz von Separatoren in der Getränkeproduktion finden Sie in der Tech Insight.

Mehr Nachhaltigkeit in der Getränkeproduktion
Video abspielen

Wege zu mehr Energieeffizienz in der Getränkeindustrie

Sie möchten Ihre Getränkeproduktion energieeffizienter gestalten, aber der Weg dorthin ist noch ein wenig unübersichtlich?! Hier kann ein Energieeffizienz-Geschäftsplan helfen, mit den sie die folgenden Bereiche abdecken und effektiv planen:

  • Möglichkeiten und Mittel, um den Stromverbrauch zu reduzieren und zu optimieren; dazu gehört auch die Steuerung des Strombedarfs
  • Effiziente Wege, um Energie- und Produktverschwendung sowie Produktabfälle zu vermeiden. Denn das schadet nicht nur der Umwelt, sondern führt auch zu unnötigen Kosten.
  • Strategien, mit denen Sie den Lebenszyklus von Geräten optimieren und Wartung und Stillstände planbar machen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Preventive and Predictive Maintenance, also die vorbeugende und vorausschauende Wartung.
  • Der Einsatz smarter Technologien wie Smart Manufacturing oder digitaler Fernüberwachungssysteme, mit denen Sie ihre Produktion immer und von überall in der Welt im Auge behalten.

Energieeffizienz: Drehzahlregelung ist das A und O

Moderne Antriebstechnik kann zu all diesen Punkten einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, so dass Sie die Energie- und Kosteneffizienzpotenziale in Ihrer Getränkeproduktion heben können. Die Affinitätsgesetze für Kreiselpumpen und Ventilatoren besagen beispielsweise, dass die Reduzierung der Motordrehzahl um 25% den Energieverbrauch um fast 60% senkt. Wird die Motordrehzahl um 50% gesenkt, beträgt die den Energieverbrauch um fast 90% senkt. Die Drehzahlregelung an sich bietet daher einen sehr guten Ausgangspunkt, um Energieeffizienzpotenziale zu heben. Anwender von Danfoss-Antriebstechnik profitieren dabei sogar doppelt: Neben geringeren Kosten für den effizienteren Energieverbrauch und eine geringere Umweltbelastung, ist der hohe Return-on-Investment von wenigen Monaten nach der Inbetriebnahme ein Plus.
 

Auch Maßnahmen zur smarten Instandhaltung senken übrigens den Energieverbrauch und die Kosten in Betrieben der Getränkeindustrie. Mit der vorausschauenden Wartung mit Condition-based Monitoring oder den DrivePro Services – wie zum Beispiel der digitalen Fernüberwachung – stellen Anwender die Verfügbarkeit ihrer Produktionslinien sicher. Was alles möglich ist rund um smarte Instandhaltungsstrategien für die Getränkeindustrie erfahren Sie hier

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

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

Warum auch "Luft" eine große Rolle spielt

In den Produktionsbetrieben und im Besonderen in der Getränkeindustrie sind Klima- und Gebäudetechniklösungen ein wesentlicher Faktor für ein effizientes, energiesparendes Gesamtsystem. Gemeinsam mit unserem Partner Novenco, einem großen Hersteller von Ventilatoren, hat Danfoss das ‚EC+‘-Konzept entwickelt. EC+ ist eine Kombination aus einem effizienten Lüfter mit einem Wirkungsgrad von etwa 92 %, einem hocheffizienten PM-Motor mit einem Wirkungsgrad von etwa 95 % und einem Frequenzumrichter von Danfoss mit einem Wirkungsgrad von 97 %. So wird ein Gesamtwirkungsgrad von etwa 85 % realisiert. René Grywnow von Danfoss Drives erklärt im Video genau, welche Rolle die Drehzahlregelung von Lüftern und Klimatechnik für die Getränkeindustrie spielt.

Beispiel aus der Getränkeindustrie:
Wie stillt eine Brauerei ihren Durst nach Energie?

Brauer unter Druck: Die Energieeffizienz in Brauereien ist ausbaufähig, finden Dr. Gerrit Blümelhuber von der Doemens Akademie und René Grywnow von Danfoss Drives. Haben die Brauer neue Technologien etwa verschlafen? In dieser Folge von Drehmoment – Der Antriebpodcast diskutieren die beiden Branchenexperten über neue Märkte, neue Anforderungen, neue Technik und mehr Energieeffizienz in Brauereien.  Der Podcast ist nur auf Deutsch verfügbar.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

PGlmcmFtZSB0aXRsZT0iSG93IGNhbiBDT+KCgiBuZXV0cmFsaXR5IGJlIGFjaGlldmVkPyIgd2lkdGg9IjgwMCIgaGVpZ2h0PSI0NTAiIHNyYz0iaHR0cHM6Ly93d3cueW91dHViZS5jb20vZW1iZWQvLU5pQWhxemcyUFk/ZmVhdHVyZT1vZW1iZWQmcmVsPTAmZW5hYmxlanNhcGk9MSZvcmlnaW49aHR0cHMlMjUzQSUyNTJGJTI1MkZkaXNjb3Zlci1kcml2ZXMuZGFuZm9zcy5jb20mY29udHJvbHM9MSIgZnJhbWVib3JkZXI9IjAiIGFsbG93PSJhY2NlbGVyb21ldGVyOyBhdXRvcGxheTsgY2xpcGJvYXJkLXdyaXRlOyBlbmNyeXB0ZWQtbWVkaWE7IGd5cm9zY29wZTsgcGljdHVyZS1pbi1waWN0dXJlIiBhbGxvd2Z1bGxzY3JlZW4+PC9pZnJhbWU+

Energieverbrauch reduzieren = CO₂-Ausstoß reduzieren

Energieeffizienz spielt die wichtigste Rolle, um CO₂-Emissionen zu reduzieren. Denn je weniger Strom verbraucht wird, desto weniger CO₂ wird emittiert.  Jedoch führen selbst die modernsten Methoden der Stromerzeugung weiterhin zu CO₂-Emissionen, wenn auch in sehr viel geringerem Ausmaß. Regel Nummer 1 lautet daher: Die grünste und gleichzeitig günstigste Energie ist diejenige, die erst gar nicht verbraucht wird. Das gilt natürlich auch in der Getränkeindustrie.

Agata Fornasari von Danfoss Drives erklärt im Video diese Zusammenhänge und zeigt, wie Antriebstechnik von Danfoss Drives eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Optimierung des Energieverbrauchs und bei der Reduzierung von CO₂-Emissionen in den Abfüllanlagen von Anwendern einnimmt. Eine erstaunliche Reduzierung von etwa 35% – abhängig natürlich von der jeweiligen  Anwendung – sind möglich.

Danfoss Drives entdecken