Happy cows
at the Mohr dairy farm

For more summer freshness in the cowshed: Animal welfare is the top priority at the Mohr dairy farm in Callbach in Rhineland-Palatinate. Because healthy and relaxed dairy cows deliver more milk of better quality. The decision to use frequency-controlled ventilation, which keeps the air in the barn fresh when it's hot, was an easy decision for farmer Yvette Mohr. Peter Seipel from Danfoss service partner Klebs+Hartmann assisted her with the planning, implementation and commissioning.

Alma's test report: It's finally summer freshness in the stable!

Hot summers with record temperatures are no longer a rarity in Europe either. Not only humans feel this, but also many animals. Climate change has us all in its grip – including us dairy cows. When it gets very hot in summer, we start to sweat a lot too. Then we dream of summer freshness in the stable. The Mohr family, in whose barn I live together with my girls, recognized this and recently provided more wellness and a real feel-good climate in our home. Read my preliminary review here.

Summer freshness in the stable

You have to imagine it like this: I am currently sharing my home with 449 flatmates. We live together in a large, open complex, which is being gradually transformed into a wellness oasis for us. That's a good thing, because after all, it's always said that the customer is king or queen.

My day usually starts early. After a hearty breakfast at the all-you-can-eat buffet, I stretch my legs before heading towards the daytime entertainment. In addition to the daily carousel ride in the milking parlour, this also includes an extensive massage on the brush roller, a refreshment in the spray mist on warm days and of course keeping your nose in the wind under the new fans in the shady, cool barn. So it can also be endured well in summer!

These measures for summer freshness in our cowshed keep us fit and in a good mood even when the outside temperatures are high, which is something the Mohr family attaches great importance to. As good tenants, we put in a lot of effort and plenty of fresh milk.

Frequency converters ensure more animal welfare at the Mohr dairy farm

Yvette Mohr from the dairy farm of the same name in Callbach in Rhineland-Palatinate knows about the stress her cows suffer in summer. "Animal welfare is important to us," explains the farmer. In addition, there is also economic damage for the family. Cows suffering from heat stress produce up to 10 percent less milk. "Cows don't like it too warm and not too cold," explains Mohr. That's why the family had 22 fans installed in the barn on their farm. “As soon as the temperature rises above 21 degrees, these kick in and cool the stable. That's why they are frequency converter so important to us.”

Summer freshness in the barn: A special assignment for the technicians

For Peter Seipel from Danfoss Drives service partner Klebs + Hartmann in Ludwigshafen, the installation of the 22nd frequency converter of the type VLT HVAC Drive from Danfoss Drives a special effort. "We've never worked on the switch cabinet on a dairy farm," laughs Seipel, shooing the flies away. But the application fascinated him because he sees even more fields of application for converter technology in agriculture. "Our goal is to achieve as much redundancy as possible in the system," explains Seipel. For this reason, each fan is assigned a converter in the control cabinet. "Technically, only one converter for 22 fans would have been feasible, but that's how we guarantee trouble-free operation. If a component fails, we can quickly replace the converter 1:1 in the control cabinet.”

How did they do that?

Peter Seipel from Danfoss service partner Klebs + Hartmann explains the planning, installation and commissioning of the 22 type VLT HVAC Drive from Danfoss Drives. 

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
LEARN MORE

Load video

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

Attention lactic acid: special protection by lacquered circuit boards

Summer freshness in the cowshed

The challenge for Seipel and his team was the motor cable lengths of more than 130 m and the ambient temperatures in the adjacent milk carousel, near which the control cabinet is located. “We did not use air conditioning in the control cabinet because these frequency converters can handle temperatures of up to 45 degrees without any problems. But we had to choose a variant with painted circuit boards because the lactic acid attacks the electronic components.”

The Mohr family consciously invested in the technology in order to minimize maintenance and repair times and to keep the temperature in the stable comfortable for the animals. “Of course, 22 drives is the slightly more expensive version, but we were also able to make savings. Our experts dispensed with displays on each converter. These make no sense to us here. A display on a converter is enough for us and saves a lot of money,” reports Seipel.

A completely new market is emerging for him and his team in agriculture. "Many farmers want to invest, put animal welfare first and at the same time want to save energy."

Discover Danfoss Drives

Glückliche Kühe
im Milchviehbetrieb Mohr

Für mehr Sommerfrische im Kuhstall: Auf dem Milchhof Mohr in Callbach in Rheinland-Pfalz steht das Tierwohl im Vordergrund. Denn gesunde und entspannte Milchkühe liefern mehr und qualitativ bessere Milch. Die Entscheidung für eine frequenzgeregelte Ventilation, die bei Hitze die Luft im Stall frisch hält, fiel Landwirtin Yvette Mohr daher leicht. Für die Planung, Umsetzung und Inbetriebnahme stand ihr Peter Seipel vom Danfoss Servicepartner Klebs+Hartmann zur Seite.

Almas Testbericht: Jetzt ist endlich Sommerfrische im Stall!

Hitzesommer mit Rekordtemperaturen sind auch in Europa keine Seltenheit mehr. Das spüren nicht nur Menschen, sondern auch viele Tiere. Der Klimawandel hat uns eben alle im Griff – auch uns Milchkühe. Wenn es im Sommer sehr heiß wird, kommen auch wir ordentlich ins Schwitzen. Dann träumen wir von Sommerfrische im Stall. Das hat Familie Mohr, in deren Stall ich gemeinsam mit meinen Mädels lebe, erkannt und kürzlich für mehr Wellness und ein echtes Wohlfühlklima in unserem Heim gesorgt. Hier lesen Sie meinen vorläufigen Testbericht.

Sommerfrische im Stall

Sie müssen sich das so vorstellen: Ich teile mein Heim derzeit mit 449 Mitbewohnerinnen. Wir leben gemeinsam in einer großen, offenen Anlage, die Stück für Stück in eine Wellnessoase für uns umgewandelt wird. Das ist auch gut so, denn schließlich heißt es ja immer, der Kunde sei König bzw. Königin.

Mein Tag startet für gewöhnlich früh. Nach einem ausgiebigen Frühstück am All-you-can-eat-Buffet vertrete ich mir noch kurz die Beine, bevor es Richtung Tagesentertainment geht. Neben der täglichen Karussellfahrt im Melkstand, gehört dazu auch eine ausgiebige Massage an der Bürstenrolle, eine Erfrischung im Sprühnebel an warmen Tagen und natürlich das Nase-in-den-Wind halten unter den neuen Ventilatoren im schattig-kühlen Stall. So lässt es sich auch im Sommer gut aushalten!

Diese Maßnahmen für Sommerfrische in unserem Kuhstall hält uns auch bei hohen Außentemperaturen fit und bei Laune, worauf Familie Mohr höchsten Wert legt. Als gute Mieterinnen geben wir uns dann auch extra viel Mühe und ordentlich frische Milch.

Umrichter sorgen für mehr Tierwohl auf dem Milchhof Mohr

Yvette Mohr vom gleichnamigen Milchviehbetrieb aus Callbach in Rheinland-Pfalz weiß um den Stress, den ihre Kühe im Sommer erleiden. „Das Tierwohl liegt uns am Herzen“, erklärt die Landwirtin. Dazu kommt für die Familie aber auch ein ökonomischer Schaden. Bis zu 10 Prozent weniger Milch geben Kühe, die unter Hitzestress leiden. „Kühe mögen es nicht zu warm und nicht zu kalt“, erklärt Mohr. Deshalb hat die Familie auf ihren Hof 22 Ventilatoren im Stall einbauen lassen. „Sobald die Temperatur auf über 21 Grad steigt, springen diese an und kühlen den Stall. Deshalb sind die Frequenzumrichter für uns so wichtig.“

Sommerfrische im Stall: Ein besonderer Einsatz für die Techniker

Für Peter Seipel vom Danfoss Drives Servicepartner Klebs + Hartmann aus Ludwigshafen war die Installation der 22 Frequenzumrichter vom Typ VLT HVAC Drive von Danfoss Drives ein besonderer Einsatz. „In einem Milchviehbetrieb haben wir noch nie am Schaltschrank gearbeitet“, lacht Seipel und scheucht die Fliegen davon. Aber die Anwendung faszinierte ihn, denn er sieht in der Landwirtschaft noch mehr Anwendungsfelder für die Umrichtertechnologie. „Unser Ziel ist es, eine möglich hohe Redundanz des Systems zu erreichen“, erklärt Seipel. Deshalb ist jedem Ventilator ein Umrichter im Schaltschrank zugeordnet. „Technisch wäre auch nur ein Umrichter für 22 Ventilatoren machbar gewesen, aber so gewährleisten wir einen störungsfreien Betrieb. Fällt eine Komponente aus, können wir den Umrichter schnell 1:1 im Schaltschrank tauschen.“

Wie haben die das gemacht?

Peter Seipel vom Danfoss-Servicepartner Klebs + Hartmann erklärt was bei der Planung, Installation und Inbetriebnahme der 22 Frequenzumrichter vom Typ VLT HVAC Drive von Danfoss Drives zu beachten ist. 

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

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

Achtung Milchsäure: Besonderer Schutz durch lackierte Platinen

Sommerfrische im Kuhstall

Die Herausforderung für Seipel und sein Team waren die Motorleitungslängen von mehr als 130 m und die Umgebungstemperaturen im angrenzenden Milchkarussell, in dessen Nähe der Schaltschrank steht. „Wir haben auf eine Klimatisierung im Schaltschrank verzichtet, weil diese Umrichter bis zu 45 Grad problemlos mitmachen. Aber wir mussten eine Variante mit lackierten Platinen auswählen, denn die Milchsäure greift die Elektrokomponenten an.“

Die Familie Mohr investierte bewusst in die Technologie, um die Wartung und Instandhaltungszeiten zu minimieren und die Temperatur im Stall dauerhaft für die Tiere angenehm zu gestalten. „22 Umrichter sind natürlich die etwas kostspieligere Version, aber wir konnten auch Einsparungen erzielen. Unsere Experten verzichteten auf Displays an jedem Umrichter. Diese machen für uns hier keinen Sinn. Ein Display auf einem Umrichter reicht uns und spart richtig Geld“, berichtet Seipel.

Für ihn und sein Team entsteht in der Landwirtschaft gerade ein ganz neuer Markt. „Viele Landwirte wollen investieren, stellen das Tierwohl nach vorne und wollen aber gleichzeitig auch Energie einsparen.“

Danfoss Drives entdecken